Journal


My poor darling

4/6/2024

my girlfriend is wildly sick AND taking a cumulative grad school final from home so I've been making sure to take care of her as best as I can, and that includes keeping the cat out of the office. the cat, however- is dead set on crying her eyes out at the door so I put on some nature cat videos to distract her... It's working.. but also I sat there for 30 minutes with her staring at them damn squirrels too... they're onto somethin here


PIZZAAAA

3/24/2024

Domino's is so absymally cheap that it's ending up less expensive than some groceries in this city. Jack and I got some custom-make pizzas and I decided to make a BBQ sauce cheese pizza with pineapple and italian sausage. I don't even like pineapple that much, but the sweet, savory and spicy from all the ingredients made it suuuuper yummy


Miss Connection

3/16/2024

Jack and I watched Madame Web last night. I knew nothing about it going in and boy !


Pyrex Permissions

3/14/2024

I am terrible at buying things, I can pick stuff out REALLY well but that final hurdle on hitting "buy" is so so so painful. Jack encouraged me through getting some Hello Kitty pyrex for work.


Not my first...

3/10/2024

I went to the rodeo with my girl today! ate brisket, saw horse wranglin, talked to lost europeans, and moseyed around the fairgrounds.

My checklist food this year was deep-fried oreos, the phrase used to just make me gag until I tried one. The heat and moisture pretty much melts the oreo, so it ends up as a chocolate and vanilla-filled donut.. It's way better than it has any right to be and I'm craving another as I type this.


RIP Toriyama

3/9/2024

I've decided to honor Akira Toriyama's legacy and all that he's done by recreating his ideal afternoon. Of course, with what I had around, but the guy was right. A cola, a smoke, and some crackers is really paradise




These reflections have dispelled the agitation with which I began my letter, and I feel my heart glow with an enthusiasm which elevates me to heaven, for nothing contributes so much to tranquillise the mind as a steady purpose-a point on which the soul may fix its intellectual eye. This expedition has been the favourite dream of my early years. I have read with ardour the accounts of the various voyages which have been made in the prospect of arriving at the North Pacific Ocean through the seas which surround the pole. You may remember that a history of all the voyages made for purposes of discovery composed the whole of our good Uncle Thomas’ library. My education was neglected, yet I was passionately fond of reading. These volumes were my study day and night, and my familiarity with them increased that regret which I had felt, as a child, on learning that my father’s dying injunction had forbidden my uncle to allow me to embark in a seafaring life.

These visions faded when I perused, for the first time, those poets whose effusions entranced my soul and lifted it to heaven. I also became a poet and for one year lived in a paradise of my own creation; I imagined that I also might obtain a niche in the temple where the names of Homer and Shakespeare are consecrated. You are well acquainted with my failure and how heavily I bore the disappointment. But just at that time I inherited the fortune of my cousin, and my thoughts were turned into the channel of their earlier bent.

Six years have passed since I resolved on my present undertaking. I can, even now, remember the hour from which I dedicated myself to this great enterprise. I commenced by inuring my body to hardship. I accompanied the whale-fishers on several expeditions to the North Sea; I voluntarily endured cold, famine, thirst, and want of sleep; I often worked harder than the common sailors during the day and devoted my nights to the study of mathematics, the theory of medicine, and those branches of physical science from which a naval adventurer might derive the greatest practical advantage. Twice I actually hired myself as an under-mate in a Greenland whaler, and acquitted myself to admiration. I must own I felt a little proud when my captain offered me the second dignity in the vessel and entreated me to remain with the greatest earnestness, so valuable did he consider my services.